Hall of Fame 2015

Hall of Fame 2015

Hall of Fame 2015

Click on the image above to check out the 6th Annual Skateboarding Hall of Fame and Icon Awards Ceremony. The event was held in Costa Mesa, California on May 14th, 2015 with a packed house of legends, pioneers and hardcore fans of skateboarding to celebrate another year of inductees.

RIP Jay Adams

Jay AdamsPhoto: Craig Stecyk

Original Z-Boy Jay Adams Passes Away At Age 53

As an original Z-boys member, Jay Adams is arguably one of the most influential skaters of all time. Stacy Peralta called him, “the world’s greatest natural skater.” He was inducted into the Skateboarding Hall of Fame in 2012.

Jay passed away on 14 August, 2014 from a heart attack. His lifelong friend, Allen Sarlo, stated that Jay had gone to bed on Thursday night after a day surfing, and passed away early Friday morning. Although Jay had a history of drug abuse, he was recently sober.

Condolences go out from Revolution to Jay’s friends and family. He will be missed and his impact on skateboarding will never be forgotten.


Patti McGee

Pattii McGee, born in 1945, was the first female professional skateboarder. She was also the first Women’s National Skateboard Champion in Santa Monica in 1965. Sponsored by Hobie Skateboards and Vita Pak, she did national tours where they paid her to do demo’s. She was featured on the covers of Life Magazine and Skateboarder Magazine (the fourth issue) in 1965. In 2010 the International Association of Skateboard Companies (IASC) made Patti the first female ever to be inducted into the Skateboarding Hall of Fame.

Patti McGee

Patti McGee

Patti McGee


Rodney Mullen

Rodney Mullen has been inducted into the Skateboarding Hall of Fame.

The Skateboarding Hall of Fame induction took place at the Sheridan Park Hotel in Anaheim, California on the 9th of May this year. Pretty much everyone who is anyone in skateboarding was there. The reason for the event was to celebrate the innovators, pioneers, and inventors in skateboarding history; the ones that laid the foundation that made skateboarding what it is today. The awards were give by the IASC (International Association of Skateboard Companies). Icon Awards, for honouring skateboarding’s greatest influencers, were given to photographer Warren Bolster, NHS, Inc.; and Devo.

The skateboarders immortalized in the Hall of Fame this year were:

1960s: Brandon “Woody” Woodward
1970s: Era One – Tom Sims
1970s: Era Two – Alan “Ollie” Gelfand
1980s: Era One – Rodney Mullen
1980s: Era Two – Christian Hosoi
1960s: Female – Wendy Bearer Bull
1970s: Female – Laura Thornhill Caswell

Here is a video of Rodney’s induction by Steve Caballero and Ben Harper:

Congratulations Rodney! Well deserved.