Rodney Mullen

Rodney Mullen has been inducted into the Skateboarding Hall of Fame.

The Skateboarding Hall of Fame induction took place at the Sheridan Park Hotel in Anaheim, California on the 9th of May this year. Pretty much everyone who is anyone in skateboarding was there. The reason for the event was to celebrate the innovators, pioneers, and inventors in skateboarding history; the ones that laid the foundation that made skateboarding what it is today. The awards were give by the IASC (International Association of Skateboard Companies). Icon Awards, for honouring skateboarding’s greatest influencers, were given to photographer Warren Bolster, NHS, Inc.; and Devo.

The skateboarders immortalized in the Hall of Fame this year were:

1960s: Brandon “Woody” Woodward
1970s: Era One – Tom Sims
1970s: Era Two – Alan “Ollie” Gelfand
1980s: Era One – Rodney Mullen
1980s: Era Two – Christian Hosoi
1960s: Female – Wendy Bearer Bull
1970s: Female – Laura Thornhill Caswell

Here is a video of Rodney’s induction by Steve Caballero and Ben Harper:

Congratulations Rodney! Well deserved.